MY VISIT TO THE PSYCHIATRICS….

PHOTO BY ….. JOE G.

I have never been to a psychiatrist before… So I’m a little nervous and very self-conscious…

I’m looking around me at everyone… And wondering what they are thinking about me being here…

To me a psychiatrist represent.. Troubled individuals.. And people with psychological problems… Such as behaviors… And thoughts…

I don’t have any of these issues… Just my doctor can’t find any medical reasons for my condition and thought maybe it’s all psychological.. So recommended me to one…

At first I was very reluctant to see one… But thought best if I ruled out everything… And try to co-operate.. To find a solution to my condition…

But.. Being here.. Gives me the creeps and I’m not too confident I need to see a psychiatrist… I’m so afraid of any medicine she may prescribe… But… I came here to try to solve this mysterious condition that has limited my whole life… And I have decided to give whatever advice or medicine she suggested a try…

We tend to want to be our own doctor sometimes.. And in actuality.. We are very under qualified… And our own diagnosis is only to please ourselves… Without any real solution…

I do that a lot.. And since this computer comes along.. I GOGGLE everything and thinks it’s law of knowledge… When in fact.. Most times what you read doesn’t do much to help my situation… And I go around acting as if I know exactly what it’s about..

……………………………………………………………………………

So I survived the visit… she wasn’t too scary and her questions wasn’t too probing… She did prescribed some medication and did say they might cause some side effects, I’m contemplating if I should take them or not… and I have decided  to do it…because I would only be defeating the purpose of my visit.. and nothing try… nothing done…

First time at anything is always a little scary and cause anxiety due to the unknown… I’m a little at ease now after my experience and I come to realize that psychiatrist  is not for only crazy people.. and having a psychological problem don’t have to mean you are crazy or psycho…

I’m really curious and full of apprehension; but, at the same time , have some anticipation of hope that the results  will be positive and I can regain my composure… and get back to a normal life without limitations.

 

f0fa0e3e-2d5c-4112-a4a1-4a1d7c3cebd3

PHOTO BY…..JOE G.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “MY VISIT TO THE PSYCHIATRICS….

    • I don’t know 🤔 if it is.
      But my doctor felt it was necessary because he couldn’t find any valid medical reasons for my condition..

      He’s thinking 💭 psychological..

      So he wants to rule it out..
      I have an appointment to see a neurologist next week..
      He thinks a more intense and more advanced test might help..

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

